Four Jackson Walker Attorneys Named 2016 Lawyers of the Year

August 14, 2015 | Attorney News

Jackson Walker partners William Dahlstrom, Dudley McCalla, Scott Rose, and Robert Ruckman were recently named “2016 Lawyers of the Year” by Best Lawyers.

Only a single lawyer in each practice area in each community is being honored as a “Lawyer of the Year.” Lawyers who receive this honor are selected based on particularly impressive voting averages received during the exhaustive peer-review assessments that Best Lawyers conducts with thousands of leading lawyers each year.

Bill Dahlstrom was selected as Dallas’ Land Use and Zoning Lawyer of the Year. Bill focuses his practice on all areas of land use. He incorporates a planning problem solving process in land use and land development issues, including zoning, subdivision, annexation, economic development, development agreements, signage, ordinance drafting, transportation, comprehensive planning, utilities, special districts, development fees, conservation, master planned developments, and aesthetics. Bill received his Bachelors in Urban Planning and Design, cum laude, from the University of Cincinnati College of Design Architecture and Art and his J.D. from the University of Texas School of Law.

Dudley McCalla was selected as Austin’s Insurance Lawyer of the Year. Dudley focuses his practice primarily on administrative law, and he is board certified in Administrative Law by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization. Throughout his career, he has had several articles published and has spoken frequently on administrative law. Dudley was named the 2013 “Lawyer of the Year” by Best Lawyers in the category of Administrative / Regulatory Law (Austin) and is listed in the 2007-2014 editions of The Best Lawyers in America under Administrative/Regulatory Law and Insurance Law. He was named a “Super Lawyer” by Thomson Reuters (2003–2004). In 2002, he was named the “Go to Lawyer in Administrative Law” by Texas Lawyer. Dudley received his B.B.A. and his LL.B. from the University of Texas, where he was a member of Phi Alpha Delta.

Scott Rose was selected as San Antonio’s Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights / Insolvency and Reorganization Lawyer of the Year. Scott is the managing partner of the San Antonio office of Jackson Walker and is a member of the firm’s Bankruptcy Practice Group. For more than 30 years, he has served as attorney and counselor to national lending, finance and investment institutions on all aspects of commercial business transactions. Known for his practical yet creative approach to matters, Scott’s involvement often leads to consensual resolution of multi-party business disputes. His experience includes numerous complex corporate, partnership, and individual bankruptcy reorganization proceedings, as well as out-of-court restructurings involving numerous secured creditors and competing claimants. Scott was also named San Antonio’s “Lawyer of the Year” by Best Lawyers in the Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights / Insolvency and Reorganization category in 2015 and 2013.

Bob Ruckman was selected as Dallas’ Personal Injury Litigation – Defendants – Lawyer of the Year. Bob is a partner in the litigation section of Jackson Walker in Dallas and is head of the Aviation practice group for the firm. His practice primarily involves representation of airlines, aircraft or aircraft component part manufacturers and aviation insurers or individuals involved in aviation or related businesses. He has served as lead counsel in complex multi-district air carrier and product liability litigation. Bob has extensive trial experience, with numerous jury and non-jury trials in state and federal courts, as well as appeals in both state and federal courts. He is Board Certified in Civil Trial Law and Personal Injury Trial Law.