Mike Pearson Published in “Landmarks of a Century in Oil and Gas Law – Twenty Cases That Shaped Oil and Gas Jurisprudence”

September 26, 2017 | Insights

Mike Pearson, Co-Chair of Jackson Walker's Energy GroupAfter 10 years in the making, the Oil, Gas and Energy Resources Law Section (OGERL) of the State Bar of Texas has published a work entitled “Landmarks of a Century in Oil and Gas Law – Twenty Cases That Shaped Oil and Gas Jurisprudence.” The book is a compilation of commentaries provided by prominent legal scholars and practicing oil and gas attorneys on the 20 most significant oil and gas cases of the twentieth century.

The OGERL is dedicated to promoting excellence in the practice of oil, gas, and energy resources law by: 1) monitoring legal developments; 2) providing education; 3) encouraging and facilitating practice in the area; and 4) promoting ethics and professionalism. It was established in 1938 and is the oldest section of the State Bar of Texas, as well as one of the largest and most active with over 4,000 members.

Jackson Walker partner and prior OGERL Chair Mike Pearson authored two of the 20 commentaries included in the compilation. In Chapter 13, Mike examines the effect Texas Oil & Gas Corporation v. Vela, 429 S.W.2d 866 (1968), had on the world of market-value royalty analysis and the fundamental principles set forth. In Chapter 14, he considers the case Exxon Corporation v. Middleton, 613 S.W.2d 240 (1981), which was decided 13 years later, following the enactment of the Natural Gas Policy Act and other regulatory initiatives intended to provide incentives for increased production and sale of natural gas. Mike goes on to consider the role Vela, Middleton, and later cases and played in developing the analytical framework that makes up the market-value royalty concept in Texas today.

For over a century, Jackson Walker has played a vital role in the growth and development of Texas business and, in particular, the oil and gas industry. Our founders were instrumental in the formation of several Dallas institutions including the Dallas County Gas Company (later known as TXU) and several railroads, as well as other businesses engaged in the oil and gas industry. In the mid-1900s, A.W. Walker, Jr., a noted authority on oil and gas, left his teaching career at University of Texas School of Law, bringing his name and expertise to our firm’s letterhead. In fact, it was A.W. Walker’s collection of works previously published by OGERL that inspired the current publication. Mr. Walker not only solidified our prominence as a Texas oil and gas firm but was the first Jackson Walker attorney to have chaired the OGERL section. He was later followed by David Dunlap in 1997, Mike Pearson in 2008, and Pete Hosey who is currently serving as Chair.

The book is available at a reduced cost of $25.00 to all those who join or renew their membership to the Oil, Gas & Energy Resources Law Section. Copies are available to non-section members for $50 (plus shipping if not purchased in person).

Copies will be available at the upcoming 35th Annual Course “Advanced Oil, Gas and Energy Resources Law” presented by TexasBar CLE and cosponsored by OGERL in Houston, September 28-29, 2017. Online registration is available.