John Beckworth Receives Highest Honor at the 2024 TJOGEL Symposium

February 27, 2024 | Attorney News

Jackson Walker congratulates John Beckworth on being named the recipient of the 2024 Ernest Smith Lifetime Achievement Award at the Texas Journal of Oil, Gas, and Energy Law (TJOGEL) Symposium, held on February 22-23 at the Austin Public Library and simultaneously streamed on Zoom.

This prestigious award is presented to distinguished attorneys who have made significant contributions to the oil, gas, and energy industry, recognizing their involvement in advancing natural resources law, policy, or scholarship. Named after Professor Ernest E. Smith, the Rex G. Baker Centennial Chair in Natural Resources Law at The University of Texas School of Law, the award is a testament to a practitioner’s exemplary career.

With over four decades of experience as a Texas practitioner, John Beckworth has demonstrated expertise in energy, litigation, and arbitration. He holds associate membership in the American Board of Trial Advocates and is board certified in Oil, Gas, and Mineral Law by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization.

In 2013, John transitioned from his active law practice in Houston to join The University of Texas School of Law in Austin, serving as Associate Dean for Administration and Strategic Planning and as a Lecturer. Beyond his roles in the Law School, he has contributed significantly to The University of Texas, having been a former Trustee of the University of Texas Law School Foundation, President and Chairman of the Board of the Texas Exes, and later elected as a trustee of the LBJ Foundation in 2018.

Additionally, John has been a longstanding appointed member of the Federal Judicial Evaluation Committee and achieved recognition as a National Association of Corporate Directors (NACD) Board Leadership Fellow in 2017.

Jackson Walker proudly served as a sponsor at the event and congratulates John for his remarkable achievements in both the legal profession and academia.