Bob Latham Named Fellow of American College of Trial Lawyers

March 6, 2024 | Attorney News

Jackson Walker is pleased to congratulate Dallas partner Robert P. Latham on his confirmation as a Fellow of the American College of Trial Lawyers (ACTL), one of the premier legal associations in North America. The induction ceremony took place before an audience of approximately 625 during the recent Spring Meeting of the College in Phoenix, Arizona.

Founded in 1950, the College is composed of the best of the trial bar from the United States, Canada, and Puerto Rico. Fellowship in the College is extended by invitation only and only after careful investigation, to those experienced trial lawyers of diverse backgrounds, who have mastered the art of advocacy and whose professional careers have been marked by the highest standards of ethical conduct, professionalism, civility, and collegiality. Lawyers must have a minimum of fifteen years of trial experience before they can be considered for Fellowship.

Robert Bob LathamMeet Bob

Robert P. Latham has developed nationally recognized experience in the areas of media law, intellectual property litigation, and commercial litigation, and leads the Media practice at Jackson Walker. As well as a trial lawyer, Bob is a published author, columnist, and a much sought-after speaker on matters related to the right to free speech, technology and IP litigation, litigation strategy, dispute resolution, and sports. In recognition of his practice, he has been listed in The Best Lawyers in America under Commercial Litigation, Litigation – First Amendment, and Litigation – Intellectual Property among other categories.

Outside of his practice, Bob serves as Chair of the International Board of ARTICLE 19, an NGO based in London. He is a former president of the Media Law Resource Center Defense Counsel Section and is a member of the International Association of Defense Counsel. In addition, he serves on the World Rugby Executive Board, chairs the World Rugby Regulations Committee, is a member of the American Board of Trial Advocates, and is a 2023 inductee into the US Rugby Hall of Fame.