Ten Jackson Walker Attorneys Named “2018 Lawyers of the Year”

August 15, 2017 | Attorney News

Jackson Walker partners Albon Head, Bill Dahlstrom, Bob Latham, Bob Ruckman, Jed Morrison, Jim Pledger, Kurt Nondorf, Michael Knapek, Scott Rose, and Steve Martens have been named “2018 Lawyers of the Year” by The Best Lawyers in America.

Each year, one lawyer from each community is honored in a particular practice area. Honorees are selected based on particularly impressive voting averages received during peer reviews conducted by Best Lawyers.

Jackson Walker is proud to congratulate the following attorneys:

Albon O. HeadAlbon Head – Eminent Domain and Condemnation Lawyer of the Year (Dallas)

Albon has practiced in federal and state courts in Texas and numerous other jurisdictions since 1971, concentrating on a variety of matters including complex business litigation, contract disputes, real estate conflicts, eminent domain and condemnation, pipeline and right-of-way litigation, and railroad litigation. He has conducted trials for major oil companies in defending environmental claims relating to abandoned tanks and abandoned refineries, the defense of class actions brought against banks and publicly traded companies by shareholders and former employees, and defense of a major U.S. railroad and short lines regarding catastrophic injuries and claims.

Bill Dahlstrom – Land Use and Zoning Lawyer of the Year (Dallas)

Bill focuses his practice on all areas of land use. A former professional land planner, Bill uses his practical experience and legal training to advise clients in land use and land development issues, including zoning, subdivision, annexation, economic development, development agreements, signage, ordinance drafting, transportation, comprehensive planning, utilities, special districts, development fees, conservation, master planned developments, and aesthetics.

Bob LathamBob Latham – Dallas’ Sports Lawyer of the Year (Dallas)

Bob is a nationally-recognized media and intellectual property lawyer who serves as Chair of both practices at Jackson Walker. He has broad experience as a trial lawyer and his practice involves complex commercial disputes. Bob is also a published author and columnist, and has spoken internationally on matters relating to free speech, technology, intellectual property litigation, and sports.

Bob Ruckman – Personal Injury Litigation – Defendants – Lawyer of the Year (Dallas)

Bob is part of the firm’s litigation section where he leads the aviation group. He primarily represents airlines, aircraft and aircraft component part manufacturers, aviation insurers, and individuals involved in aviation and related businesses. He has served as lead counsel in complex multi-district air carrier and product liability litigation and has extensive trial experience with numerous jury and non-jury trials in state and federal courts, as well as appeals in both state and federal courts.

Jed Morrison – Healthcare Lawyer of the Year (San Antonio)

Jed has practiced healthcare law for 35 years. He served as Republican counsel to the United States House of Representatives Budget Committee and later counsel to the Healthcare Financing Administration in Washington, DC before returning to Texas. Jed joined Jackson Walker as one of the founding members of its healthcare law section in 1994. He exclusively represents healthcare providers and other industry participants and focuses his practice on the regulatory and transactional aspects of healthcare law.

Jim Pledger – Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights / Insolvency and Reorganization Lawyer of the Year (Austin)

Jim is a banking and corporate attorney who is recognized for his experience with financial institution law and regulation and mortgage regulation and licensing. With over 35 years of experience, his practice focuses on the regulation and operation of banks, savings banks, credit unions, bank holding companies and mutual holding companies, financial institutions, public and private equity, and debt offerings. He is particularly experienced with the regulation and operation of commercial banks, savings associations, savings banks, credit unions and financial institution holding companies, and the regulation of mortgage brokers and mortgage bankers.

Kurt Nondorf – Real Estate Lawyer of the Year (Houston)

Kurt’s practice focuses on all areas of real estate law, including raw land, industrial, healthcare, multi-family, retail, and hospitality. Representing clients with the acquisition, sale, financing, and leasing of real estate properties, Kurt frequently works on assignments within the commercial capital and leasing markets, representing both buyers and sellers in commercial leases.

Michael Knapek – Litigation – Insurance Lawyer of the Year (Dallas)

In his over 30-year career as a trial lawyer, Mike has served as the head of Jackson Walker’s Dallas Litigation section and has developed a diverse practice in which he focuses on representing plaintiffs and defendants in complex commercial, injury and property damage lawsuits. Mike’s land use litigation practice has recently focused on the Religious Land Use and Institutionalized Person’s Act (RLUIPA). His experience includes the successful representation of a church in a federal court lawsuit, which resulted in the church obtaining the necessary zoning approvals that the local municipality had previously refused to provide.

Scott Rose – Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights / Insolvency and Reorganization Lawyer of the Year (San Antonio)

Scott counsels national lending, finance, and investment institutions in commercial lending transactions and debt restructurings. Throughout his 30-year career, he has developed a practical yet creative approach to each matter which often results in consensual resolution of multi-party business disputes. His experience includes complex corporate, partnership, and individual bankruptcy reorganization proceedings as well as out-of-court restructurings involving numerous secured creditors and competing claimants. Scott also serves as managing partner of the firm’s San Antonio office.

Steve Martens – Austin Real Estate Lawyer of the Year (Austin)

Steve applies over 30 years of experience in representing lenders, borrowers, developers, and owners in commercial real estate and lending transactions. He assists clients in structuring, documenting, closing, and due diligence for commercial real estate acquisition, development, construction, and term loans. Steve also has significant experience providing opinion letters as borrower’s counsel in financing transactions and as local counsel in multi-state loan transactions.