Jennifer Caughey Appointed to Texas Judicial Council

November 10, 2021 | Attorney News

On November 10, 2021, Governor Greg Abbott announced the appointment of Jackson Walker partner and Appellate Practice Chair Jennifer Caughey to the Texas Judicial Council, for a term set to expire on June 30, 2027.

Established in 1929, the Texas Judicial Council (TJC) is tasked with studying and reporting on the organization and practices of the court system in Texas. The Council makes and submits recommendations for improvement of the system to the Texas Legislature, the Governor, and the Supreme Court.

In her role on the Council, Jennifer will provide the perspective of an appellate attorney and a former Justice on the First Court of Appeals. Her appellate work and skill has been recognized by Chambers USA, Best Lawyers, and Super Lawyers, and under her leadership, the Firm’s Appellate team was recognized nationally and locally in the U.S. News & World Report and Best Lawyers’ list of “Best Law Firms” in 2020 and 2021.

Jennifer handles complex litigation, with a focus on appeals. Since returning to private practice, she has successfully represented clients in diverse state court matters across Texas, including at the Texas Supreme Court, in various Texas Courts of Appeals, and in trial courts (at jury and bench trials and otherwise). She also has a vibrant federal practice, and has represented clients in the U.S. Supreme Court, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the First, Fifth, Sixth, Ninth, and Tenth Circuits, and in federal district courts.

Outside of Jackson Walker, Jennifer is a Fellow of the Texas Bar Foundation and the Houston Bar Foundation. She also serves as a Committee Chair of the Texas Bar Association’s Appellate Section and served as a Judicial Liaison of the Houston Bar Association’s Appellate Section.

Jennifer received her A.B. from Princeton University and her J.D. from Harvard Law School.

For additional information about the Texas Judicial Council, view the news release “Governor Abbott Appoints Caughey to Texas Judicial Council.”