Jackson Walker Congratulates Its Best Lawyers in America 2013

August 29, 2012 | Attorney News

Seventy-two Jackson Walker attorneys were selected for inclusion in the 2013 edition of The Best Lawyers in America.

Since it was first published in 1983, Best Lawyers has become widely regarded as the definitive guide to legal excellence. Because Best Lawyers is based on an exhaustive peer-review survey in which more than 36,000 leading attorneys cast almost 4.4 million votes on the legal abilities of other lawyers in their practice areas, and because lawyers are not required or allowed to pay a fee to be listed, inclusion in Best Lawyers is considered a singular honor. Corporate Counsel magazine has called Best Lawyers “the most respected referral list of attorneys in practice.”

JW congratulates its listed Best Lawyers in America:


  • Jim Alsup (Real Estate Law)
  • Ann Benolken (Corporate Law)
  • Chuck Campbell (Employee Benefits Law)
  • Wade Cooper (Bankruptcy and Creditor-Debtor Rights Law; Litigation – Bankruptcy)
  • Leonard Dougal (Environmental Law; Litigation – Environmental; Water Law)
  • Matt Dow (Commercial Litigation)
  • Sam Hildebrand (Litigation – Trusts and Estates; Trusts and Estates)
  • Brandon Janes (Corporate Law)
  • Steve Martens (Real Estate Law)
  • Dudley McCalla (Administrative/Regulatory Law; Insurance Law)
  • Mike Nasi (Environmental Law)
  • Robert Neblett (Commercial Litigation; Eminent Domain and Condemnation Law; Litigation – Construction)
  • James Pledger (Banking and Finance Law; Financial Services Regulation Law)
  • Thomas Rogers (Bet-the-Company Litigation; Commercial Litigation; Insurance Law; Litigation – Regulatory Enforcement)
  • Ed Small (Energy Law; Government Relations Law; Litigation – Environmental)
  • Tim Taylor (Real Estate Law)
  • Larry Waks (Media Law)
  • Jerry Webberman (Real Estate Law)


  • Bryan Birkeland (Real Estate Law)
  • Bob Cohan (Antitrust Law; Commercial Litigation; Litigation – Antitrust)
  • Pat Cowlishaw (Litigation – Environmental)
  • Bill Dahlstrom (Land Use & Zoning Law; Real Estate Law; Litigation – Land Use & Zoning)
  • Brian Dethrow (Tax Law)
  • Byron Egan (Corporate Governance and Compliance Law; Corporate Law; Mergers & Acquisitions Law)
  • Gary Fowler (Labor Law; Employment Law)
  • Jim Griffin (Employee Benefits Law)
  • Mike Haggerty (Real Estate Law)
  • John Holden (Energy Law; Oil and Gas Law)
  • Willie Hornberger (Tax Law)
  • John Jansonius (Labor Law; Employment Law)
  • Mark Josephs (Bet-the-Company Litigation; Commercial Litigation; Legal Malpractice Law; Litigation – Mergers & Acquisitions; Litigation – Securities; Litigation – Trusts and Estates)
  • Suzan Kedron (Real Estate Law)
  • Ronald Kerridge (Litigation & Controversy – Tax; Tax Law)
  • Bob Latham (Commercial Litigation; First Amendment Law; Litigation – First Amendment; Litigation – Intellectual Property; Litigation – Patent; Sports Law)
  • Kathleen LaValle (Commercial Litigation; Litigation – Antitrust; Litigation – Regulatory Enforcement)
  • Frank McEachern (Energy Law)
  • Scott McElhaney (Commercial Litigation; Litigation – ERISA; Litigation – Labor & Employment)
  • Susan Mead (Land Use & Zoning Law; Real Estate Law; Litigation – Land Use & Zoning)
  • Retta Miller (Commercial Litigation)
  • David Moran (Commercial Litigation)
  • Bob Ruckman (Commercial Litigation; Legal Malpractice Law; Personal Injury Litigation; Transportation Law)
  • Jim Ryan (Corporate Law; Mergers & Acquisitions Law)
  • Gordon Shapiro (Commercial Litigation; Litigation – Banking & Finance; Litigation – Environmental; Litigation – Securities)
  • Jeffrey Sone (Corporate Law)
  • Pete Wahl (Environmental Law)
  • Paul Watler (Bet-the-Company Litigation; Commercial Litigation; First Amendment Law; Litigation – First Amendment)

Fort Worth

  • Albon Head (Bet-the-Company Litigation; Commercial Litigation; Litigation – Construction; Railroad Law)
  • Gary Ingram (Labor Law; Employment Law; Litigation – Labor & Employment)
  • Jay Rutherford (Labor Law; Employment Law;)
  • Paul Vrana (Derivatives and Futures Law; Energy Law; Natural Resources Law)


  • Chip Babcock (Bet-the-Company Litigation; Commercial Litigation; First Amendment Law; Litigation – First Amendment; Litigation – Intellectual Property)
  • Barron Bogatto (Health Care Law)
  • Glen Boudreaux (Commercial Litigation; Litigation – Banking & Finance)
  • David Dunlap (Natural Resources Law; Oil & Gas Law)
  • Craig Enochs (Derivatives and Futures Law)
  • Richard Griffin (Commercial Litigation)
  • Nancy Hamilton (Litigation – First Amendment)
  • Jeffrey Harder (Corporate Governance Law; Private Funds/Hedge Funds Law; Venture Capital Law)
  • Dan Hayes (Health Care Law)
  • Michael Kuhn (Real Estate Law)
  • Scott McLaughlin (Labor Law; Employment Law; Litigation – Labor & Employment)
  • Kurt Nondorf (Real Estate Law)
  • Mike Pearson (Natural Resources Law; Oil & Gas Law)
  • James Prappas (Immigration Law)
  • Bruce Ruzinsky (Bankruptcy and Creditor-Debtor Rights Law; Litigation – Bankruptcy)
  • Jay Strimel (Immigration Law)
  • Matthew Thompson (Immigration Law)

San Angelo

  • Don Griffis (Arbitration; Commercial Litigation; Litigation – Labor & Employment; Mediation)

San Antonio

  • Steve Jacobs (Corporate Law)
  • Jed Morrison (Health Care Law)
  • Scott Rose (Bankruptcy and Creditor-Debtor Rights Law; Litigation – Bankruptcy)
  • Patrick Tobin (Corporate Law)

In This Story

Jim Alsup
Partner, Austin

Charles L. Babcock
Partner, Houston

Bryan C. Birkeland
Partner, Dallas

Barron P. Bogatto
Partner, Houston

Chuck Campbell
Partner, Austin

Robert M. Cohan
Retired Partner, Dallas

C. Wade Cooper
Partner, Austin

Patrick R. Cowlishaw
Partner, Dallas

William S. Dahlstrom
Partner, Dallas

Brian Dethrow
Partner, Dallas

Leonard H. Dougal
Partner, Austin

James Matthew Dow
Partner, Austin

David G. Dunlap
Partner, Houston

Byron F. Egan
Partner, Dallas

Richard E. Griffin
Partner, Houston

Nancy W. Hamilton
Partner, Houston

Albon O. Head, Jr.
Partner, Fort Worth

Sam K. Hildebrand
Partner, Austin

John B. Holden, Jr.
Partner, Dallas

William H. Hornberger
Partner, Dallas

Gary L. Ingram
Partner, Fort Worth

Steven R. Jacobs
Partner, San Antonio

Brandon C. Janes
Partner, Austin

John V. Jansonius
Partner, Dallas

Mark T. Josephs
Partner, Dallas

L. Suzan Kedron
Partner, Dallas

Ronald D. Kerridge
Partner, Dallas

Michael K. Kuhn
Partner, Houston

Robert P. Latham
Partner, Dallas

Steven R. Martens
Partner, Austin

Scott M. McElhaney
Partner, Dallas

Retta A. Miller
Partner, Dallas

David T. Moran
Partner, Dallas

Edgar C. Morrison, Jr.
Partner, San Antonio

Michael J. Nasi
Partner, Austin

Robert B. Neblett
Partner, Austin

Kurt D. Nondorf
Partner, Houston

Michael P. Pearson
Partner, Houston

James L. Pledger
Partner, Austin

J. Scott Rose
Partner, San Antonio

Robert F. Ruckman
Partner, Dallas

Jay K. Rutherford
Partner, Fort Worth

Bruce J. Ruzinsky
Partner, Houston

James S. Ryan, III
Partner, Dallas

Gordon M. Shapiro
Partner, Dallas

Edward C. Small
Retired Partner, Austin

Jeffrey M. Sone
Partner, Dallas

Timothy C. Taylor
Partner, Austin

Patrick B. Tobin
Partner, San Antonio

Peter K. Wahl
Partner, Dallas

Paul C. Watler
Partner, Dallas

Gerald Scott Webberman
Partner, Austin